Skip navigation

dvd_cover.jpg

Of course my first entry has to be about my own tutorial project. For those who have not seen it, I released a DVD through The Gnomon Workshop in early 2006 that taught rendering in Alias StudioTools (now known as Autodesk AliasStudio). It is titled “Product Design Rendering Essentials: Lighting and Shading in StudioTools with Dustin Brown.” Yes, all of that. It is still available from The Gnomon Workshop.

I’ll update with any new/other titles from Gnomon that may be of interest.  There are many…

4 Comments

  1. Are there any DVDs for teaching concept modelling in Alias Studio Tools for begginers moving onto intermediate users. I want specific CAR modelling/ Automotive modelling tutorials and not simplistic consumer appliances or furniture or Tea Kettle tutorials.

  2. I mentioned this in response to a question you asked in another entry, but you may want to investigate Fridolin Beisert’s book. It has been a while since I’ve seen it, but I remember it including a simple car modeling tutorial. It does not cover Class A surfacing, but shows some basics. Unfortunately I haven’t found a lot of information on car modeling in AliasStudio. You may have to go to Autodesk directly for that.

    Fridolin’s book at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Learning-Design-Alias-StudioTools-Hands/dp/1897177143

  3. Is this DVD good for a newbie to Alias or should I get this once I’ve learned the basics? I love the decription and the images on the website. BTW the snippet of the video doesn’t seem to work.

  4. Dennis,

    I actually created this DVD myself. It would help if you had a basic understanding of the Alias interface, but beyond that, you don’t need a great deal of rendering experience. Thanks for the notice about the video not working. I’ll follow up with Gnomon regarding that.

    Dustin


Leave a Reply

